Selling at and running markets in Oregon.
Oregon has no general sales tax, so vendors collect none. Home bakers can sell non-refrigerated foods at farmers markets without a license under the Oregon Department of Agriculture's cottage food exemption, within an annual sales cap. Event food booths need a temporary restaurant license from the county's local public health authority, with forms published by the Oregon Health Authority.
Updated
Sales tax.
No Oregon sales tax
Oregon says it has no general sales or use/transaction tax, so vendors at an Oregon market do not register for or collect sales tax. The exceptions the page names are a use tax on new vehicles bought out of state and certain taxes on specific services such as hotel or rental car bookings.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Oregon Department of Revenue
- When
- All sales in Oregon.
Selling homemade food (cottage food).
At a glance: no registration or permit, sales up to $52,700 a year. Compare all 50 states.
Cottage Food Exemption and Domestic Kitchen license
No license or registration is needed if the food qualifies, every person preparing it has completed food handler training and annual gross sales stay at or under $52,700. Meat, cream-filled or other refrigerated baked goods and bottled brewed tea are outside the exemption; above the cap, a home kitchen needs an ODA Domestic Kitchen Bakery or Food Processor license. Labels must include the producer's phone number and name any pet species kept in the home.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Food Safety Program
- When
- Selling baked goods, confectionery and other foods that do not need refrigeration for safety, made in a home kitchen, at farmers markets, farm stands, roadside stands or online.
Temporary food permits.
Temporary restaurant license (single event, intermittent or seasonal)
The Oregon Health Authority posts the temporary restaurant forms (single event, and operational review and renewal for intermittent and seasonal operations), but the application and any fee go to the Local Public Health Authority for the county where the event is held. Two OHA fact sheets list foods exempt at temporary events; ask the county for its fees and deadlines.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- County Local Public Health Authority; forms from the Oregon Health Authority
- When
- Food booths at public events such as markets, fairs and festivals.
Farmers markets and produce.
Farmers market vendors: licensing exemptions and licensed scales
ODA says farmers markets are not themselves licensed as food establishments, but each food vendor needs a food license unless an exemption applies. Produce stands selling only what the farmer grew are exempt, and producers selling their own eggs directly to consumers (including at a farmers market) are exempt but must label them. A scale used to sell by weight must be licensed with ODA.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Oregon Department of Agriculture, Food Safety Program and Weights and Measures
- When
- Selling produce, eggs, processed foods or items sold by weight at an Oregon farmers market.
Business registration.
Business name registration (no general state business license)
The Secretary of State says registering a business name is not the same as getting a license: Oregon licenses are issued at the state level by profession or industry, and some cities and a few counties also license. A sole proprietor whose business name includes the owner's real and true name does not have to register an assumed business name.
- Who
- Organizer and vendors
- From
- Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division
- When
- Sole proprietors using a name other than their own full name, and any LLC or corporation operating under a name different from its registered one.
City and county permits in Oregon.
Event permits, vendor licenses and food permits are mostly local. Pick your city or county:
Collect the paperwork with each application.
Ask vendors for their sales tax registration, cottage food registration or food permit and insurance certificate as required documents on your application form, and check them before you approve anyone.
Where the sources are unclear.
- No Oregon promoter or organizer duty regarding vendors' taxes was found, which fits the state having no sales tax.
- The ODA cottage food FAQ read is dated March 2026; confirm the current cap with ODA before relying on it.
- The OHA temporary restaurant page does not state fees or deadlines; those come from each county. County pages are on the Oregon city and county entries where researched (for example Multnomah County).
- The ODA Weights and Measures page read did not state the scale license fee.
Common questions.
Do I need a sales tax permit to sell at a craft fair in Oregon?
No Oregon sales tax (Oregon Department of Revenue): Oregon says it has no general sales or use/transaction tax, so vendors at an Oregon market do not register for or collect sales tax. The exceptions the page names are a use tax on new vehicles bought out of state and certain taxes on specific services such as hotel or rental car bookings.
Can I sell homemade food at a farmers market in Oregon?
Cottage Food Exemption and Domestic Kitchen license (Oregon Department of Agriculture, Food Safety Program): No license or registration is needed if the food qualifies, every person preparing it has completed food handler training and annual gross sales stay at or under $52,700. Meat, cream-filled or other refrigerated baked goods and bottled brewed tea are outside the exemption; above the cap, a home kitchen needs an ODA Domestic Kitchen Bakery or Food Processor license. Labels must include the producer's phone number and name any pet species kept in the home.
Who issues temporary food permits for events in Oregon?
Temporary restaurant license (single event, intermittent or seasonal) (County Local Public Health Authority; forms from the Oregon Health Authority): The Oregon Health Authority posts the temporary restaurant forms (single event, and operational review and renewal for intermittent and seasonal operations), but the application and any fee go to the Local Public Health Authority for the county where the event is held. Two OHA fact sheets list foods exempt at temporary events; ask the county for its fees and deadlines.
Do I need a state business license to be a vendor in Oregon?
Business name registration (no general state business license) (Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division): The Secretary of State says registering a business name is not the same as getting a license: Oregon licenses are issued at the state level by profession or industry, and some cities and a few counties also license. A sole proprietor whose business name includes the owner's real and true name does not have to register an assumed business name.
Sources.
This page summarizes official state sources and isn't legal or tax advice. Rules and fees change; confirm with each agency.
Every fact on this page comes from these official pages, checked on 2026-10-11. Details change; tell us at hello@bzar.app if something here is out of date.
- https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/sales-tax.aspx
- https://www.oregon.gov/oda/Documents/Publications/FoodSafety/CottageFoodExemptionFAQENG.pdf
- https://www.oregon.gov/oda/food-safety/fs-licensing/pages/without-license.aspx
- https://www.oregon.gov/oda/food-safety/fs-licensing/pages/domestic-kitchen.aspx
- https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HEALTHYENVIRONMENTS/FOODSAFETY/Pages/regs.aspx
- https://www.oregon.gov/oda/agriculture-services/weights-measures/pages/license-scale-meter.aspx
- https://sos.oregon.gov/business/Pages/faq.aspx
- https://sos.oregon.gov/business/Pages/doing-business-means.aspx
Collect every vendor permit in one place.
bzar is free for organizers: vendor applications with required documents, booth payments, tickets and check-in in one dashboard.