Running a vendor market in Hyattsville.
In Hyattsville, MD, a flea or vendor market sale needs a City Temporary Sales License ($8 in person, $10 online), vendors at city special events need a temporary vending permit, and businesses need an annual City business license. Food vendors need Prince George's County Health permits, and vendors need Maryland trader's and sales tax licenses.
Updated
Event permit.
Temporary Sales License (Temporary Sales Permit)
Submit the application in person on the third floor of the City Building, or email licensing@hyattsville.org and pay online. The City says turnaround is typically one to two business days.
- Who
- Organizer
- From
- City of Hyattsville Permits and Licensing
- When
- Temporary sales within the City, which the City says covers yard and garage sales, Christmas tree sales, flea market sales and fresh produce sales. The permit form is issued to a 'sponsor' under Chapter 99 of the City Code; it does not say whether each vendor at a multi-vendor market needs their own.
- Fee
- $8 if submitted in person; $10 if submitted online
- Timing
- Typical turnaround 1 to 2 business days
Block Party Permit (street closure)
Submit the request form with a petition showing at least 50 percent of residents support the closure, one signature per address, and notify everyone within the closure boundary at least one week ahead. Public Works delivers cones and barricades, which the organizer sets up and takes down.
- Who
- Organizer
- From
- City of Hyattsville City Clerk
- When
- Closing a residential street for a block party. It is built for residents' gatherings, so it may not suit a commercial market.
- Timing
- Submit at least two weeks before the requested date
Special Event Temporary Use and Occupancy Permit
Apply in the Momentum permit portal with a site plan showing all structures and the Special Event Temporary Use Procedures Checklist. The owner's business must be registered and in good standing with Maryland. Fees include a structures fee and a technology fee, and expedited review fees apply to late filings (see the DPIE Fee Schedule).
- Who
- Organizer
- From
- Prince George's County Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement (DPIE)
- When
- Temporarily using a space for an event other than its approved use. Parades, bike rides and walks with no tents, stages, inflatables, generators, ticket sales, food trucks or on-site food, and community meetings of 50 or fewer, are exempt from this permit but still need county approval for road closures and police traffic control. Hyattsville is inside Prince George's County; the County page read does not say whether this permit applies within municipalities, so ask DPIE and the City.
- Timing
- Submit 45 days before the event, and no less than 3 weeks before; later applications are not guaranteed review and carry expedited review fees
Parks and public space.
Park pavilion and field permits
Pavilions are rented by permit only from April through October, with requests accepted from the first business day of January. The City's fields are used by permit only, coordinated through the Department of Community Services.
- Who
- Organizer
- From
- City of Hyattsville Department of Community Services
- When
- Pavilions at David C. Driskell Community Park and City fields. Sales and vending of any kind, generators, loud music, alcohol and inflatables are prohibited at the pavilions, so they do not suit a vendor market.
- Fee
- $175 for the Large Pavilion (80 people); $125 for the Small Pavilion (30 people, City residents only)
Vendor and business licenses.
Temporary vending permit for special events
A vendor must apply to the City for a temporary vending permit, valid only for the event, and may not vend at the event without one. Food and beverage vendors are referred to the County and State health authorities as well, and the Code limits vending licenses for cooked food except as the City allows for special events.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- City of Hyattsville (Charter and Code Chapter 90, Peddling and Soliciting)
- When
- Vendors at a City 'special event' (fairs, shows, exhibitions, festivals in a defined area for up to seven days). This comes from the March 2019 version of the Code, so check the current text and fee with the City.
- Fee
- Set by the City; the Code does not state it
- Timing
- Apply at least five days before the event begins
City business license
Licenses are annual, expire June 30 and trigger a property inspection, with fees set by business class. The application asks for the County use and occupancy number and State trader's license number.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- City of Hyattsville Permits and Licensing
- When
- Businesses operating in the City. The City's 2022 licensing guide says licenses are needed before opening 'whether the business is temporary or permanent' and require a County Use and Occupancy permit first. It does not say how this applies to a market vendor with no premises, so ask Licensing.
- Fee
- FY 2027 rates start at $100 (Class 1: mall and outdoor kiosks) and rise by business class
Vendor, Peddler, and Solicitor License (door to door)
Listed as a separate City application for door-to-door vendors, peddlers and solicitors. It is not the license for booths at a market.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- City of Hyattsville Permits and Licensing
- When
- Door-to-door sales; the permits page labels it that way.
Trader's License (or Exhibitor's Affidavit)
The Comptroller's license bureau says a trader's license from the Clerk of the Circuit Court is required, along with a sales tax account, and the license year runs May 1 to April 30. A copy of the license or affidavit must be shown to the promoter before the show and displayed during it. Fees are not listed on this page.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Montgomery County, Clerk of the Circuit Court (statewide rules enforced by the Comptroller's License Bureau)
- When
- Anyone selling goods in Maryland other than a grower or manufacturer. Exhibitors at a show do not need their own trader's license when the show is promoted by an exempt entity the Comptroller lists (for example a church, government agency or volunteer fire department), or when they give the promoter an Exhibitor's Affidavit saying they get under 10 percent of annual income from like goods at the show. Either way they must not have done more than three shows in the previous 365 days.
Transient Vendor License (roadside or temporary sales)
The Comptroller issues this license free of charge for 90 days, but the seller must first hold a Maryland sales and use tax license and a business license for the county where they will operate. Selling without it can bring a stop-sale order or criminal citation.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Comptroller of Maryland
- When
- Sellers who make taxable sales from a vehicle or from a roadside or temporary location they do not own. The Comptroller says it does not apply to exhibitors at fairs, trade shows and flea markets.
- Fee
- Free; valid for 90 days
Sales tax.
Temporary Sales and Use Tax License (30 days)
A vendor emails the event date, name and location plus business details to the Comptroller's temporary license desk (or calls 410-767-1543 or 410-767-5462) and collects the 6 percent or 9 percent Maryland sales and use tax, as the Comptroller states. Vendors at three or more events a year should register for a permanent license through Maryland Tax Connect.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Comptroller of Maryland
- When
- Vendors without a permanent Maryland sales and use tax license who sell at one-time events such as craft shows and fairs. Maryland has one statewide rate and no local sales taxes.
- Timing
- Temporary license is valid for 30 days
Flea market and show sales are taxable
The Comptroller says sales at flea markets are subject to the 6 percent sales and use tax like other retail sales, and a seller must hold a license before collecting it. A 30-day permit is available by phone from the Special Events Section at 410-767-1543 or 410-767-1531; frequent sellers should get a permanent license through the Combined Registration Application.
- Who
- Vendors
- From
- Comptroller of Maryland
- When
- Vendors at flea markets and similar markets, including nonprofits and private individuals (casual and isolated sales under $1,000 and a few other sales are exempt).
Food vendors.
Temporary Food Service Facility Permit
Apply and pay online in Momentum; the application is incomplete without payment. Inspectors may visit during the event and either hand over the permit there or email it beforehand. The page does not state the fee.
- Who
- Organizer and vendors
- From
- Prince George's County Health Department
- When
- People selling food or drinks at fairs, festivals, carnivals, community days, concession stands and other special events. Hyattsville's Code also refers food vendors to the County and State health authorities.
- Timing
- Apply and pay at least five business days before the event
What the rules ask of organizers about vendors.
A show promoter may not let an exhibitor take part unless the exhibitor has given a photocopy of a valid Trader's License or an Exhibitor's Affidavit before the show. Exhibitors must display it, and the promoter must forward all Exhibitor Affidavits to the Comptroller's State License Bureau within seven days after the show. Non-compliance is a misdemeanor with a fine up to $100 or up to 30 days in jail.
When to apply.
- Temporary Sales License (Temporary Sales Permit): Typical turnaround 1 to 2 business days
- Block Party Permit (street closure): Submit at least two weeks before the requested date
- Special Event Temporary Use and Occupancy Permit: Submit 45 days before the event, and no less than 3 weeks before; later applications are not guaranteed review and carry expedited review fees
- Temporary vending permit for special events: Apply at least five days before the event begins
- Temporary Food Service Facility Permit: Apply and pay at least five business days before the event
- Temporary Sales and Use Tax License (30 days): Temporary license is valid for 30 days
Collect the paperwork with each application.
Ask vendors for their sales tax registration, business license, food permit and insurance certificate as required documents on your application form, so you can check them before you approve anyone. Booth fees, tickets and day-of check-in run from the same dashboard.
Selling at markets in Hyattsville, MD?
The vendor license, sales tax and food permits above are yours to get before the event; the organizer will usually ask for copies with your application. On bzar you apply to markets and pay booth fees by card in one place, and keep your licenses, permits and insurance certificates on file to reuse on every application. Free for vendors. Join bzar free or read how to become a market vendor.
Where the sources are unclear.
- Maryland rules on sales tax, trader's licenses and promoter duties come from the Comptroller of Maryland and apply statewide. The promoter rules are written for shows and exhibitors; confirm with the Comptroller's License Bureau that your vendor market counts as a show.
- The two Comptroller sales-tax guidance pages (KB0010107 and KB0010150) load their text only in a browser, so an automated fetch returns an empty shell. Their text was read in a browser on 2026-10-10.
- Blocked: princegeorgescountymd.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch on 2026-10-10 (temporary food permit and special event permit pages). The county entries here are copied from the prince-georges-county-md file, whose pages were read in a browser.
- The Hyattsville Code PDFs read (Chapter 90) are the March 2019 compilation, and the permit form for Temporary Sales cites Chapter 99 without the chapter text being read. Fees and rules may have changed; the City's Permits page (updated fee schedule dated April 1, 2025) is the current source for the $8 and $10 figures.
- No official Hyattsville page found for a general special event permit for a market on public streets or plazas as of 2026-10-10; ask the Department of Community Services at 301-985-5000.
Common questions.
Do I need a permit to host a vendor market in Hyattsville?
Temporary Sales License (Temporary Sales Permit) (City of Hyattsville Permits and Licensing): Submit the application in person on the third floor of the City Building, or email licensing@hyattsville.org and pay online. The City says turnaround is typically one to two business days. Block Party Permit (street closure) (City of Hyattsville City Clerk): Submit the request form with a petition showing at least 50 percent of residents support the closure, one signature per address, and notify everyone within the closure boundary at least one week ahead. Public Works delivers cones and barricades, which the organizer sets up and takes down.
Do vendors need a license to sell at events in Hyattsville?
Temporary vending permit for special events (City of Hyattsville (Charter and Code Chapter 90, Peddling and Soliciting)): A vendor must apply to the City for a temporary vending permit, valid only for the event, and may not vend at the event without one. Food and beverage vendors are referred to the County and State health authorities as well, and the Code limits vending licenses for cooked food except as the City allows for special events. City business license (City of Hyattsville Permits and Licensing): Licenses are annual, expire June 30 and trigger a property inspection, with fees set by business class. The application asks for the County use and occupancy number and State trader's license number.
Who handles sales tax at a market in Hyattsville?
Temporary Sales and Use Tax License (30 days) (Comptroller of Maryland): A vendor emails the event date, name and location plus business details to the Comptroller's temporary license desk (or calls 410-767-1543 or 410-767-5462) and collects the 6 percent or 9 percent Maryland sales and use tax, as the Comptroller states. Vendors at three or more events a year should register for a permanent license through Maryland Tax Connect. Flea market and show sales are taxable (Comptroller of Maryland): The Comptroller says sales at flea markets are subject to the 6 percent sales and use tax like other retail sales, and a seller must hold a license before collecting it. A 30-day permit is available by phone from the Special Events Section at 410-767-1543 or 410-767-1531; frequent sellers should get a permanent license through the Combined Registration Application. For organizers: A show promoter may not let an exhibitor take part unless the exhibitor has given a photocopy of a valid Trader's License or an Exhibitor's Affidavit before the show. Exhibitors must display it, and the promoter must forward all Exhibitor Affidavits to the Comptroller's State License Bureau within seven days after the show. Non-compliance is a misdemeanor with a fine up to $100 or up to 30 days in jail.
Do food vendors need a separate permit in Hyattsville?
Temporary Food Service Facility Permit (Prince George's County Health Department): Apply and pay online in Momentum; the application is incomplete without payment. Inspectors may visit during the event and either hand over the permit there or email it beforehand. The page does not state the fee.
How far ahead should I apply in Hyattsville?
Temporary Sales License (Temporary Sales Permit): Typical turnaround 1 to 2 business days Block Party Permit (street closure): Submit at least two weeks before the requested date Special Event Temporary Use and Occupancy Permit: Submit 45 days before the event, and no less than 3 weeks before; later applications are not guaranteed review and carry expedited review fees Temporary vending permit for special events: Apply at least five days before the event begins Temporary Food Service Facility Permit: Apply and pay at least five business days before the event Temporary Sales and Use Tax License (30 days): Temporary license is valid for 30 days
Keep reading.
Sources.
This page summarizes official government sources and isn't legal or tax advice. Rules, fees and forms change; confirm with each agency before you apply.
Special events contact: Hyattsville Permits and Licensing: 301-985-5014, licensing@hyattsville.org
Every fact on this page comes from these official pages, checked on 2026-10-10. Details change; tell us at hello@bzar.app if something here is out of date.
- https://www.hyattsville.org/846/Permits
- https://www.hyattsville.org/DocumentCenter/View/5270/Temporary-Sales-Permit-Final-and-Fillable
- https://www.hyattsville.org/DocumentCenter/View/9337
- https://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/departments-offices/permitting-inspections-and-enforcement/permits/special-event-permit
- https://www.hyattsville.org/901/Park-Pavilion-and-Room-Rentals
- https://www.hyattsville.org/DocumentCenter/View/5114/Charter-and-Code-March-2019_Ch-90
- https://www.hyattsville.org/DocumentCenter/View/9739/Business-License-Application-FY2027---Fillable
- https://www.hyattsville.org/DocumentCenter/View/6589
- https://www.marylandcomptroller.gov/businesses/new-business/business-licenses.html
- https://www.marylandcomptroller.gov/about/field-enforcement-bureau/procedural-manual/900/905-transient-vendors.html
- https://services.marylandcomptroller.gov/taxes?id=kb_article_view&sysparm_article=KB0010143
- https://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/departments-offices/health/environmental-health/food-safety-permits-inspections/temporary-food-service-facility-permits
- https://services.marylandcomptroller.gov/taxes?id=kb_article_view&sysparm_article=KB0010107
- https://services.marylandcomptroller.gov/taxes?id=kb_article_view&sysparm_article=KB0010150
Collect every vendor permit in one place.
bzar is free for organizers: vendor applications with required documents, booth payments, tickets and check-in in one dashboard.